Thanks for visiting this blog. Please share information about this blog among your friends interested in ISO 9001:2015 QMS Awareness.
- Keshav Ram Singhal
Blog on 'Quality Concepts and ISO 9001: 2008 Awareness' at http://iso9001-2008awareness.blogspot.in

Academic comments are invited. Please join this site. Reproduction of articles from this blog is encouraged, provided prior information is provided. Please give credit to the blog and the writer, and also send a copy of the published material to the editor of the blog.

Various information, quotes, data, figures used in this blog are the result of collection from various sources, such as newspapers, books, magazines, websites, authors, speakers etc. Unfortunately, sources are not always noted. The editor of this blog thanks all such sources.

Encouragement Support - Please become a member of NCQM - National Centre for Quality Management

People from following (more than 90) countries/economies have visited this blog: Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, European Union, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Lebenon, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates, United States, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

Thursday, February 12, 2015


Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) Cycle plays a significant role in implementing QMS. It provides a feedback mechanism for quality improvement. There is a good news that ISO/DIS 9001 has recognized the importance of PDCA in its Para 0.4.

Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) Cycle is a popular tool for implementing ideas or system in a controlled way. This tool is also known as PDCA Cycle , or Deming Cycle. ISO 9001:2008 QMS standard suggests applying PDCA methodology to all processes. When you want to do something, something you wanted to improve, or something wrong you wanted to fix, then PDCA methodology provides you a better solution to achieve your goal.

You should use PDCA methodology:
- when you wish to bring improvement or wish to start a project
- when you wish to develop a new design of process or product
- when you wish to implement any change in your process or product

The four phases in the Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) Cycle involve:
* Plan - Indentifying and analyzing what to do - First you should identify and establish your objectives and processes necessary to deliver your desired results.
* Do - Implement the processes as planned.
* Check - Measuring how effective the implementation has been, and also analyzing whether there could be any improved way. You should measure processes and product.
* Act - Implementing the improved solutions you analyze during the Check

ISO/DIS 9001 includes a figure that shows schematically how a single process within the quality management system can be managed using the PDCA cycle. It states:
- Plan the process - Extent of planning depends on risk
- Do - Carry out the process
- Check - Monitor/measure process performance
- Act - Incorporate improvements as necessary and again move to plan process and so on.

ISO 9001:2008 QMS emphasizes 'continual improvement' and ISO/DIS 9001 has removed the word 'continual' and now the term 'improvement' will include all types of improvements, such as continual improvement, constant improvement, continuous improvement.

With best wishes,

- Keshav Ram Singhal

No comments:

Post a Comment